“Vikingskipshuset” (Viking Ship Museum) is located in Bygdøy peninsula, in Oslo, Norway.
The museum displays the worlds’ two best preserved wooden Viking ships
In 1913, Gabriel Gustafson, the archaeologist responsible for the excavation and conservation of the Oseberg ship, proposed a specific building to house Viking Age finds.
The hall for the Oseberg ship was completed in 1926. The ships from Tune and Gokstad were moved in 1932. Due to the Second World War, the last hall was completed only in 1957.
Oseberg ship, Gokstad ship and Tune ship are the main attractions at the Viking Ship Museum. Additionally, the museum collection includes many of the artifacts found in the ships, such as small boats, sledges, clothing, furniture and weapons.
The Tune ship was the first Viking ship to be excavated. It was found in 1867 and the excavation was led by professor Oluf Rygh. At that time modern archaeology was only just developing, therefore, the ship received rough treatment, both the man buried in the ship and most of the items found in there were lost or destroyed. The items that still exist are in very poor condition.
Gokstad ship was built in about 850AD. About the year 900 the ship was used for the burial of a rich and powerful man who may have died in battle.
In the autumn of 1879, the Gokstad ship was found by two teenagers on the Gokstad farm in Sandefjord. And, in the spring of 1880, Nicolay Nicolaysen and his team started an archaeological excavation on the site.
The ship was then restored and now it is the largest ship (23.80 m long and 5.10 m wide) in the Viking Ship Museum.
Oseberg ship was built around the year 820. It was richly decorated – beautiful animal ornamentation has been carved from the keel and up along the bow post, which ends in a snake’s head of twisting spiral.
In the year 834 the Oseberg ship was pulled ashore and it was used as a burial ship for two prosperous women. The identities of these women are a mystery and several questions and theories concerning it have been raised.
The Oseberg burial mound was found in 1903. In 1904, professor Gabriel Gustafson initiated the excavation of the Oseberg ship, which drew great interest from the public. Although the excavation itself had took less than three months, 21 years were needed to prepare and restore the ship and most of the finds.
May to September: 09h00 – 18h00
October to April: 10h00 – 16h00
Entrance fee: NOK 80 (9.70€) adults
Discount for youngsters, seniors, students, families and groups (Check on the website)