It is surrounded by huge cactus pears (Opuntia ficus-indica) and allows the observation of a big extension of Tagus River and the surrounding area.
It is classified as a national monument since 1910.
It is believed that the first occupants of this islet were the Lusitanians, followed by the Romans, the Alans, the Visigoths and the Moors. It’s unclear when the actual castle was established.
In 1129 the Castle was conquered by Dom Afonso Henriques, the first king of Portugal. It was placed in the trust of Gualdim Pais, the master of the Order of the Knights Templar, who rebuilt it in 1171. It was held by the Templars until 1311, the date of they extinction. The Castle was then attributed to the Order of Christ.
The Castle of Almourol had a notable role in the history of the Templars and of Portugal.
It lost its importance and gradually felt into ruin, which was aggravated by the 1755 earthquake.
Nowadays the Castle of Almourol is under the control of the Portuguese Army. It had suffered several reparations and is a tourist attraction.
Opening days: Tuesday to Sunday
Tancos and Castle quays (access to the islet and the castle by boat)
10h00 – 13h00 | 14h30 – 17h00 (November to February)
10h00 – 13h00 | 14h00 – 19h00 (Mars to October)
10h00 – 13h00 | 14h30 – 17h30 (November to February)
10h00 – 13h00 | 14h00 – 19h30 (Mars to October)
2.00€ (boat trip from castle quay and castle entrance)
2.50€ (boat trip from Tancos quay and castle entrance)